Top 5 Things I Miss About Korea

1.  Traveling.  Probably the thing I miss most about living in Korea is traveling.  During my short 2 years living in Korea, I was able to travel more than I ever have in all my life.  During my holidays and vacations I was able to visit Indonesia, Japan, China, the Philippines, and Thailand.  Not to mention the traveling I was able to do within Korea.  When you move across the world, you don’t have to go very far to find new adventures.  And traveling around Asia is so cheap!

2011-01-02

2.  Transportation System.  As embarrassing as this is to admit, I still don’t have my driver’s license.  Driving scares the crap out of me, and I’ve used living abroad as an excuse to put off getting one.  That’s another thing I loved about living in Korea.  Their transportation system is so cheap and easy to use, there’s not much need to have a car.  Just hop on the subway or a bus and it will take you anywhere you need to go.  Even the taxis are super-cheap.

3.  The Nightlife.  In Korea, most of the bars and clubs stay open til the sun comes up.  I’m not a big party girl, but I enjoyed going to Hongdae a few times and being able to stay out until the subway opened again in the morning.

4.  Noraebang.  Literally, singing room.  It’s like karaoke, but instead of singing in front of a bunch of strangers, you have a private room for only you and your friends.  I hate singing in front of people, but after a little soju, even I enjoy going to noraebang.

P1040469  P1060321

5.  Sticker Picture Booths.  These are soooo much better than our photo booths.  I guess they are originally from Japan, because many times the instructions will be in Japanese rather than Korean.  Usually, a sticker picture store will have several different photo booths to choose from.  They often have free props you can use as well.  It can be a little stressful because you have a time limit, and with the instructions being either in Japanese or Korean, you have to just guess sometimes.  Most booths allow you to choose different scenes and backgrounds for your photos.  Afterwards, you choose which photos you like, and then you decorate them on a computer screen outside the booth.  Once you print your pictures, you can cut them and peel of the back to use them as stickers.

2011-08-03

There are so many other things I miss about Korea, but these are my top 5.  Stay tuned for my Top 5 Things I Don’t Miss About Korea!

About koreanbymarriage

My name is Jennifer. I love to travel. I taught English in Korea for two years, which is where I met my husband, Donghee. We also lived in New Zealand for over a year. Now we are back in the US ready to start adventures here!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

