Latest Obsession: Saving $$

Donghee and I are currently unemployed.  We have some money saved up from when we were working in NZ, but those funds are quickly diminishing.  So naturally, my latest obsession has become finding new ways to save money.

I’ve always been pretty frugal, but I’ve never been a coupon clipper or anything like that.  Some of those people can go into stores, fill up their cart, and the store ends up paying them for shopping there!  I don’t understand how they do it!  I’ve started clipping coupons, but that only saves me a few bucks here and there.

My brother and his wife told us about an app called Shopkick.  With this app, you earn “kicks” for walking into certain stores or scanning specific items.  When you get enough kicks, you can redeem them for a gift card.  They have all kinds of gift cards you can choose from, but I’ve always stuck with Target.  Shopkick is really easy, and actually kinda fun.  Using both our phones, Donghee and I have earned nearly $100 in gift cards since November.  It wouldn’t really be worth it to go to a store just to get kicks, but if you happen to be going there anyway, why not?  Here is my referral link if you want to try it out:)

Another money saver I’ve come to love is Living Social.Donghee and I don’t eat out much at all these days, but when we do, we almost always use a Living Social deal.  It’s a great way to save money and try out new restaurants.  The deals are usually 50% off.  For example, you may buy a Living Social deal for $15 that gives you $30 to spend.  They have more than just restaurant deals, but we have only tried the restaurant ones so far.

I’ve also downloaded Target’s Cartwheel app and the RetailMeNot app, but I’ve yet to try those out.  What are your favorite ways to save money??

About koreanbymarriage

My name is Jennifer. I love to travel. I taught English in Korea for two years, which is where I met my husband, Donghee. We also lived in New Zealand for over a year. Now we are back in the US ready to start adventures here!
This entry was posted in Latest Obsession and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

