Poptarts and Pastries!

I found a couple of yummy recipes that I thought I would share with you guys.   I actually planned on making these strawberry nutella poptarts for valentines day, but due to all the snow we got, I wasn’t able to make it to the store to get strawberries.  That didn’t stop me from trying out this recipe another day.  Look at how cute these turned out!

1912047_727309045413_983022652_oThey were soooo good too.  I mean who doesn’t like nutella?  And together with strawberries, yumm!  These were pretty simple to make too!

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Cover a cookie sheet with parchment paper.

For the egg wash, mix 1 egg yolk and 1 tsp water.  Set aside.

For the dough, you can use store bought refrigerated pie crust.  You just roll it out until it’s pretty thin.  The original recipe says 1/16th of an inch, but I don’t know how to measure that, so I just guessed.  Some poptarts came out thicker than others, but they are all just as good.  The recipe says to use one package of pie crust.  The box I bought had two pie crusts in it.  I wasn’t sure if I was supposed to use both, but more poptarts is better, so I did.  I ended up with 12, while the original recipe makes 6.  Yeah, 12 is definitely better than 6.  If your house is anything like mine, they will disappear quickly.  So if you use two pie crusts, you should end up with 24 2.5×3.5in rectangles. Re-roll the dough as needed.

Place half of the rectangles on the cookie sheet.  Spread 1 tsp of nutella and then 1 tsp of strawberry jelly on top.  Try not to get too close to the edges.

20140218-124740.jpg 20140218-125040.jpg

Next, you need to cut some strawberries.  Cut them lengthwise, then cut a little triangle out at the stem to make them heart-shaped.  Place a slice of strawberry in the center of each poptart.

20140218-125230.jpgFor me, the hardest part was cutting the hearts out of the remaining rectangles.  You could use a cookie cutter if you have one, or use the strawberry as a guide.  Just do whatever is easiest for you.

Put the rectangles with the heart cutouts on top of the poptarts, sealing the edges with a fork.  Brush with the egg wash.  Sprinkle the tops with coarse sugar.

20140218-125333.jpgBake for 12-14 minutes or until golden brown.  I had to cook mine for about 20 minutes.  Cool on a cooling rack for 5 minutes before serving.

20140218-125427.jpg

Click here for the original recipe.

Now for the second recipe! handheld blueberry pie.  Blueberries are like one of my favorite things, so when I found this recipe and saw how easy it looked, I had to try it out!  Let me tell you, these were soooo good.  And if I could do it, you can do it!

The recipe uses store bought puff pastry sheets.  I’d never used these before, but I assumed they were similar to refrigerated pie crusts, so that’s where I looked for them.  I eventually found them in the frozen section.  After baking the pies, I saw that they are quite different than regular pie crust.  They puff up (I guess that’s where they get their name) like magic while baking into a beautiful flaky pastry!

So the recipe doesn’t really specify whether to use frozen or fresh blueberries.  I happened to already have some fresh blueberries in the fridge, but only one cup.  Since the recipe calls for 2 cups, I decided to make half with fresh blueberries, and the other half with frozen.  Both turned out great, but I would definitely recommend using fresh berries.  They were so much juicier.  I think because the fresh berries were bigger.  If you decide to use frozen berries, make sure you thaw and drain them first.  I made the mistake of not draining them and it was a juicy mess!

Unfortunately, I forgot to take pictures, but here is the link to the original recipe.  I actually really like their site.  A lot of their recipes look good and fairly simple.

About koreanbymarriage

My name is Jennifer. I love to travel. I taught English in Korea for two years, which is where I met my husband, Donghee. We also lived in New Zealand for over a year. Now we are back in the US ready to start adventures here!
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

