Crochet: Casual Summer Top

20140321-153409.jpg
I finished another project! This one was for me:). Another free pattern I found on ravelry. That website is so addicting!
This pattern was super easy. The hardest part for me was learning how to do the foundation single crochet. I wasn’t getting it from the pattern instructions, but this tutorial explained it really well.
I used Caron Simply Soft in persimmon. It’s not a color I would usually pick, but I like it. It’s kind of a pinky orange.

20140321-155003.jpg (check out my Hello Kittyfied laptop)

Squeaky loves watching me crochet!

20140321-155730.jpg
This top is meant to be a very loose fitting crop top, but if you want a slightly tighter fit, you can subtract your fsc stitches by multiples of 8. I subtracted 16 stitches from the small size, which still gave it a loose fit that was about perfect. I think this top looks cute over dresses or with something high wasted.

20140321-160012.jpg
You can find the pattern for this casual summer top here.

About koreanbymarriage

My name is Jennifer. I love to travel. I taught English in Korea for two years, which is where I met my husband, Donghee. We also lived in New Zealand for over a year. Now we are back in the US ready to start adventures here!
This entry was posted in Crochet and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Crochet: Casual Summer Top

  1. Mabel Kwong says:

    You did well with the top! You look so young in it 😉 A lot of people I know don’t like wearing woolen or knitted stuff in the summer because it might make them feel warm. I see your new top has some “holes” in it, so I suppose this will not be the case when you wear it in the warmer months ahead 🙂

    • Thanks! The yarn I used was acrylic, which apparently is not the best choice for summer. I didn’t do my research before buying it and just went with the yarn recommended for the pattern. Next time I’ll go with a cotton or bamboo yarn. I think the top will still be good for spring and fall though!

      • Mabel Kwong says:

        Yeah, I heard acrylic can be a bit warm, just like wool. Cotton yarn seems like a good choice. At your end of your world, summer is still a couple of months away. I’m sure you’ll be able to get through your acrylic yarn in no time and buy another one to knit more summer-friendly clothes in time for warm season. Yarn isn’t too expensive too 🙂

Leave a Reply

