I’m Back!

Hey guys! I know I’ve been neglecting my blog for quite a while now, but I’m going to try to start posting more consistently.  Donghee and I just recently moved down to Florida, so we’ve been pretty busy setting up our new life here.  What sparked our decision to move you ask?  Well, NC has always been my home.  I was born and raised there.  But after living all around the world, when I returned to NC, I just started to feel restless, and like I was being held back.  Don’t get me wrong, I love my family (all of whom live in NC), but when I was living in other countries, I was forced to step out of my comfort zone, try new things, and figure things out on my own.  I know Florida is not the same as Korea, but it’s a new place.  It’s just close enough to home for a visit, but far enough away for independence.  Plus I love the hot weather:)

We really had almost no plan when we moved down here.  No jobs lined up, nowhere to live, really didn’t even know where in Florida we were going.  After a couple of weeks of moving around and applying for jobs, we ended up in Orlando.  Donghee found a job at a food distributor company through a friend of his.  Since he got a job in Orlando, I decided that of course I should work for Disney!  I’m actually working at one of the water parks.  Most Disney employees get free admission to the four main parks, but water park employees (or should I say cast members) get free admission to the water parks as well:)  The pay is not that great, and my tan lines are horrible, but I’m still having fun!

We also moved into our first apartment together!  We were living with my family in NC, so we were very happy to finally get a place of our own.  It’s just a studio, but the living area is a nice size.  We are pretty happy here so far.  I’m having lots of fun playing housewife.  I’m always looking up new recipes on pinterest:)  I’m glad I have a husband who will eat almost anything.  I’ve only burned a few things though.  I need to make a cookbook with the successful recipes I try.  Last night was salisbury steak.  I used this recipe.  It was a big hit with the husband and quite easy to make.  I bought almost everything for this recipe at Aldi’s, which is my new favorite store.  Everything is so much cheaper, and I don’t see much difference in quality.  Another recent hit was this baked ziti recipe.  It surprised me when Donghee liked it so much since it has no meat in it, and my husband is not a huge fan of pasta.  We both loved that it had artichokes in it.  The pesto and sour cream layer was super-yummy as well.

While I’m updating on everything, here is my latest crochet project.  20140613-105719-39439495.jpg

My mom requested a new throw for her couch.  I’m using this ripple pattern.  I had hoped to finish it for Mother’s Day, but that didn’t happen.  It’s taking me a while, especially since I haven’t had as much free time, but hopefully I’ll be able to get it to her soon.  My friend is having a baby girl this fall, and I’m already getting super-excited looking at patterns for her as my next project!

Well, that’s all for now folks, but I promise to post again soon!

About koreanbymarriage

My name is Jennifer. I love to travel. I taught English in Korea for two years, which is where I met my husband, Donghee. We also lived in New Zealand for over a year. Now we are back in the US ready to start adventures here!
This entry was posted in Cooking, Crochet and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m Back!

  1. Mabel Kwong says:

    Good to hear you’re back. I was wondering where you’ve been! Moving can be difficult and scary – and lonely as you’ve sort of hinted. But it’s always a new beginning and adventure. Glad to see you’re enjoying your job at DisneyLand, it sounds like a cool place to work and I bet you see many smiling families and tourists everyday 🙂 Currently I am in an office job that pays super well but it’s really dull, sitting behind a computer screen all day. I’ve always thought of working at a theme park, it looks so fun from the outside.

Leave a Reply

