Long overdue update

Yes, I realize I am a horrible blogger.  I really do start posts in my head all the time if that counts for anything!

Anyway, since my last post, Donghee got his green card!  Yay!!!!  I must say that I’m pretty proud of us for getting through that whole process without a lawyer.  It wasn’t easy.

Also, a good friend of mine is having a baby.  You know what that means… I get to crochet baby things!!  I fell in love with this pattern.  Rather than paying for a pattern, I searched Ravelry.com for free frog hat, lily pad, and flower patterns.  This is how it turned out!

10595944_769122610693_1475000383_n 10622021_769124407093_1436262838_n

I got the bright idea to sew a button on the back of the flower so it can easily be taken off or repositioned.  I’m pretty happy with how it turned out:)  It should make for some pretty cute pictures when the baby is born!

So, I’ve officially become a DIY-er (thank you pinterest).  Check out my DIY napkin holder.

10589525_762460277063_463814794_n

It’s not the sturdiest thing ever, but it serves it’s function, and I happen to think it turned out really cute!  It also introduced me to wonderfulness that is gold spray paint.  Donghee says everyday he comes home from work, he finds something new that I’ve spray painted gold.  What can I say?  It makes things look so much nicer! 

I also recovered our dining chairs.  I didn’t take a before picture, but it needed to be done.  My grandpa made our dining table and chairs many years ago.  They lived in my parent’s house for a while, moved back to my grandparent’s house, and now they live with us!  The chairs have been recovered too many times to count.  So I bought myself some fabric and a staple gun, and decided to carry on the tradition.

10621873_766499871683_1005404238_n

Ignore the messy background.  There’s a reason I didn’t get a picture of the table and all four chairs. 

In other news, I’ve been trying out some new Korean recipes.  My husband is smart enough to always compliment my cooking, but he really raved about both of these.

The first thing I made really for him to take for lunch.  It’s called 소고기 장조림 (Sogogi Jangjorim).  Basically, it is beef and eggs (often in Korea they use quail eggs) in soy sauce.  Donghee actually made this when we were in New Zealand a few times to take for lunch, so when I was trying to think of new things to pack him for lunch, this was one of the first things I thought of.  I didn’t really remember how he made it, so I followed this recipe and video from crazykoreancooking.com.  He said it tasted just like his grandma’s!  I left out all of the ingredients listed as optional, except eggs.  I boiled extra eggs.  I also added more garlic cloves, as Donghee really loves eggs and garlic.  This recipe took some time, but was fairly simple. 

The next recipe I made was this Korean beef bowl, which is similar to bulgogi.  It uses ground beef instead of sirloin, which is usually used for bulgogi.  I followed the recipe except for adding some thinly sliced carrots and mushrooms.  This was super-easy to make, and it received another 5 start rating from the husband! 

 

About koreanbymarriage

My name is Jennifer. I love to travel. I taught English in Korea for two years, which is where I met my husband, Donghee. We also lived in New Zealand for over a year. Now we are back in the US ready to start adventures here!
This entry was posted in Cooking, Crochet, Immigration Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Long overdue update

  1. Mabel Kwong says:

    Sounds like a lot has happened since you last blogged! Not only do you know how to crochet, but you can cook too! The first recipe sounds very healthy, I bet it tasted delicious and your husband loved it 🙂 It’s always hard learning to cook something first but once you’ve done that it’s easy!

Leave a Reply

